Bypoll Results: A setback to saffron Juggernaut

After Karnataka setback, BJP relied on these by-elections for breather. But, it seems that the united Opposition would definitely keep them on toes till 2019. The communal polarization card is not working, as proved by Kairana poll’s verdict. Pitting traditional regional opposite parties is also not working. BSP-SP again supported each other in Noorpur. Let’s review the bypoll results and their impacts.

Assembly Seats


In Maharashtra’s Palus Kadegaon Assembly constituency, Congress candidate Vishwajeet Patangrao Kadam was elected unopposed.


Congress secured Meghalaya’s Ampati Assembly seat. Miani D Shira, daughter of Mukul Sangma won the seat by a margin of 3191 votes, making the Congress the single largest party in the state.


CPI(M)-led LDF’s Saji Cheriyan secured a win in Kerala’s Chengannur Assembly seat against Congress and BJP. The margin of victory was 20000.


Embarrassment for Nitish Kumar and another feather in the cap for young Tejashwi Yadav. RJD candidate Shahnawaz Alam won the Jokihat Assembly seat in Bihar. Shahnawaz Alam defeated the JD(U)’s Murshid Alam with a margin of over 4,000 votes.

RR Nagar

The Congress has won the RR Nagar seat in Karnataka. Congress candidate Muniratna won with a margin of over 41,000 votes over BJP rival Tulsi Muniraju Gowda.


The Samajwadi Party has won the Noorpur Assembly bypoll by 6,211 votes. SP candidate Naeemul Hasan enjoyed the support of the Congress, the Samajwadi Party, the Bahujan Samaj Party and the AAP.


Congress candidate Hardev Singh Ladi won the Shahkot assembly bypoll in Punjab. He defeated Akali Dal’s nominee Naib Singh Kohar by a margin of over 38,000 votes.


Some cheer for BJP as it retained the seat. BJP’s Munni Devi Shah defeated Congress’ Jeetram by over 1,900 votes.

Silli and Gomia

JMM retained these seats. The bypolls were necessitated following the conviction of the JMM MLAs Yogendra Mahto and Amit Mahto.In Gomia, JMM’s candidate Babita Devi defeated AJSU nominee Lambodar Mahto by 13,00 votes. In Silli, JMM’s Seema Mahto defeated AJSU chief Sudesh Mahto by 13,000 votes.


Trinamool Congress’ Dulal Das wins Maheshtala assembly bypoll in Bengal by 62,827 votes.

Lok Sabha Seats


BJP won Palghar against friend-turned-foe Shiv-Sena. BJP’s candidate Rajendra Gavit wins Palghar by 29572 votes.


Tabassum Hasan, today became the first Muslim MP from the most populous state in the 16th Lok Sabha. Hasan from RLD defeated her nearest BJP rival Mriganka Singh by a huge margin of over 46,000 votes.


In Bhandara-Gondiya seat, which the BJP had won in the 2014 elections, the NCP’s Madhukar Kukade has won over its nearest rival of BJP’s Hemant Patle.


Tokheho Yepthomi, fielded by the ruling People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA), wins over his lone rival of the opposition NPF for the lone Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland.

Litmus Test for BJP?

The jinx continued. While Shah has emphasised that bypolls happen on local issues, the fact that BJP has lost its third consecutive by-election in Uttar Pradesh because of the Opposition coming together means the 2014 performance in the state will be tough to repeat in 2019. Coming soon after the Karnataka setback, this loss will have an impact on party morale.

It would be foolish to assume that the Opposition won’t be united till 2019 as they are receiving ample of success. Similar model would soon be applied in the coming polls by the regional stalwarts. The direction of the wind has changed and BJP is definitely not on the windward side. There is still time to bring humbleness and make allies which would keep the Opposition at bay.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles